THE LAVENHAM SINFONIA gives vibrant, energetic concerts, with brilliant soloists, of great masterworks from our musical heritage. This year, there are three fantastic concerts taking place in Lavenham Church.

The first concert in our 2018 season is on April 15th. Lavenham Sinfonia visits northern Europe, featuring Sibelius’s well-loved Second Symphony, a staple of the orchestral repertoire. The uplifting certainty of its ending seems to have struck a chord with the Finnish public at a time of Russian oppression, and it has been the most popular of his symphonies since its first performance, under the baton of the composer, in 1902. 
Alongside this, we introduce the Romeo & Juliet Fantasia by Norwegian composer and conductor Johan Svendsen. Written in 1876, it depicts the conflicts and tragic resolution of Shakespeare’s play in engaging musical terms, and, though little known, is a gem of a piece. 
Carl Nielsen, born in 1865, the same year as Sibelius, played violin in the Royal Danish Orchestra under Svendsen, going on to serve as its conductor after the latter’s retirement. His Helios Overture was written in 1903 when the composer was visiting Athens, and it depicts a sunrise and sunset that is at least as Mediterranean as it is Scandinavian. 

The second concert is on June 24th. We are delighted to welcome Rosemary Hinton back to Lavenham to perform the fourth of Mozart’s five great violin concertos, written in 1775. Its key (D major) gives it a genial and positive mood, with an expansive middle movement in A major. 
The concert begins with Mozart’s most well-known overture, to The Marriage of Figaro, which fizzes with the energy and excitement of the opera’s title character as he prepares for his wedding. 
Symphony No. 39 is the first of the three symphonies that Mozart composed in the summer of 1788. They turned out to be the last he wrote, and by most accounts the greatest. Like its partners, it is a magnificent work that looks towards the music of future generations.

The third concert takes place on September 23rd. Georg Philipp Telemann was remarkably prolific, even by the standards of his time, composing at least three thousand works, around half of which have been lost. But among his many extant orchestral pieces is this delightful suite in D major for oboes, bassoon and strings. 
Baritone Mark Saberton makes a welcome return to Lavenham after his success in last season’s Beethoven Ninth. Bach’s cantata Ich habe genug is a beautiful meditation on Candlemas. Written for performance in 1727, Bach thought highly enough of it to re-use it several times. It is one of the most performed of his more than 200 cantatas. 
Instrumental music from Handel’s late and great oratorio Jephtha makes a suitable introduction to Bach’s Fourth Orchestral Suite, with its festive trumpets and timpani, giving a suitably ceremonial ending to our 2018 season. 


ALL CONCERTS ARE IN LAVENHAM CHURCH unless otherwise stated.

Scandinavian Light

Date: 15 April 2018 - 07:00 PM

A Mozart Celebration

Date: 24 June 2018 - 07:00 PM

The High Baroque

Date: 23 September 2018 - 07:00 PM

To book any of these concerts online, go to the Eastern Angles website at and click on 'What's On'. Their box office is open for phone bookings from 10.00 am to 2.00 pm on 01473 211498.