The High Baroque

Date: 23 September 2018 - 07:00 PM

G. Ph. Telemann: Orchestral suite in D major

J. S. Bach: Cantata BWV 82 "Ich habe genug" (Soloist - Mark Saberton, baritone)

G. F. Handel: Overture and Sinfonia from Jeptha

J. S. Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D major


The third concert takes place on September 23rd. Georg Philipp Telemann was remarkably prolific, even by the standards of his time, composing at least three thousand works, around half of which have been lost. But among his many extant orchestral pieces is this delightful suite in D major for oboes, bassoon and strings. 
Baritone Mark Saberton makes a welcome return to Lavenham after his success in last season’s Beethoven Ninth. Bach’s cantata Ich habe genug is a beautiful meditation on Candlemas. Written for performance in 1727, Bach thought highly enough of it to re-use it several times. It is one of the most performed of his more than 200 cantatas. 
Instrumental music from Handel’s late and great oratorio Jephtha makes a suitable introduction to Bach’s Fourth Orchestral Suite, with its festive trumpets and timpani, giving a suitably ceremonial ending to our 2018 season.