Lavenham Sinfonia Concert July 2017

Date: 02 July 2017 - 07:00 PM

Joseph Haydn         ‘Drumroll’ Symphony No. 103
Richard Strauss       Concerto No. 1 for Horn, Op.11
                                Kay Dawson horn
Franz Schubert        Symphony No. 6 in C major D.589


From Haydn to Strauss
Richard Strauss’s youthful and charming Horn Concerto Op.11 dates from 1883. We are delighted to welcome back Kay Dawson to perform it.

Haydn’s well-loved ‘Drumroll’ Symphony is a late work, from the group of symphonies written for his last trip to London in 1795.

Schubert wrote his first C major Symphony, No. 6, at the age of 20; though a scant two decades after Haydn’s last symphonies, it opens a door to the new sound-world of the Romantic period.