Lavenham Sinfonia Concert April 2017

Date: 23 April 2017 - 07:00 PM

Hector Berlioz       Béatrice et Bénédict Overture
Antonin Dvořák     Romance Op.11 & Mazurka Op.49
                             Caroline Mitchell violin
Edward Elgar        Enigma Variations Op.36


Elgar and St George
For the first concert in our 2017 season, we welcome back violin soloist Caroline Mitchell to play two delightful Dvořák concert pieces which, in their contrasting ways, show off the violin’s suitability as a solo instrument.

Berlioz’s overture for his comic opera Béatrice et Bénédict, based on Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing, opens the concert; it ends with Edward Elgar’s great Enigma Variations, in keeping with the English theme for St George’s Day.